Dirty Birdies 

I’ll admit it, I’m a bit of a clean freak about my make up brushes. That being said, I still don’t wash them as much as I’ve seen some people recommend. I don’t mark a calendar or remember to wash them every __ days, but when I get around to it it’s normally every 2-3 weeks, depending on how much I’ve been using them. 

I seperated them into 2 categories: brushes with shimmer (highlighter, eyeshadow, etc) & brushes without (foundation, setting powder, etc). I do this simply from getting glitter in brushes that didn’t have it from the products they’re used for. I also clean them differently. 

You’ll need 

  • 2 bowls/cups 
  • Dish detergent (I.e. Dawn or Ajax) 
  • Vinegar 
  • Water 

Brushes with Liquid Product/Powder (no shimmer, like foundation brushes) 

  • Squirt a small amount of dish soap in the bottom of your container and fill with hot water about an inch deep. 
  • Add vinegar. Any amount is good, but I usually go for about 1/4 vinegar and 3/4 water if that makes sense. 
  • Soak brushes for 10 minutes
  • I then take each brush out individually and scrub it on my hand with additional soap, then rinse. 
  • For best results rinse with cold water (combats bubbles), dry on a towel, and hang/prop upside down to dry. 

Brushes used for shimmer powder products (highlighter, eyeshadow) 

  • The exact same, except no vinegar! It won’t hurt to use the same water, but vinegar isn’t as much of a help here. 

Again, you don’t have to separate your brushes at all but that’s just what I find makes more sense. When done make sure they are drying in the right shape and are rinsed of vinegar (yuck). I hang mine like this on the shower rod. Hope this helps! 

Left To Right 

  1. EcoTools Powder Brush
  2. Morphe M439 (!!!!)
  3. Glamour Dolls x Lisa Frank Angle Brush
  4. Morphe G35
  5. Luxie 660
  6. Luxie 514
  7. Morphe G6 
  8. Real Techniques Foundation Brush
  9. Morphe G37
  10. Luxie 524T
  11. Beau Gachis Concealer Brush
  12. SLMissGlam L34 
  13. Luxie 215
  14. Beau Gachis Tapered Blending Brush 
Leave a Reply

